Commencement - 2010

Parents and friends gathered for St. Andrew's School Commencement Ceremony on Saturday June 5, 2010. The event began with a procession of St. Andrew's Students, Faculty, Staff, Trustees, King Medalists, and Alumni from the Class of 1960 (a tradition in honor of their 50th reunion.) Afterwards, 46 members of the Graduating Class of 2010 entered and later Head Master John D. Martin and Commencement Speaker Matt Light, All-Pro Lineman, New England Patriots offered words of advice for the graduates.

The Senior Address was given by Rebecca Douglass and Matthew Wuertz and St. Andrew's highest honor, The King Medal Award was presented to Liang "Colin" Yin who will be attending Syracuse University in the fall.


46 students graduated in 2010 and moved on to colleges such as Brandeis University, Bridgewater State College, Bristol Community College, Clark University, Curry College, Dean College, Elmira College, Emory University, Lynn University, Mitchell College, Mount Holyoke College, Mount Ida College, New York University, Newbury College, Palm Beach Atlantic University, Plymouth State University, Providence College, Rhode Island College, Ringling College of Art and Design, Roger Williams University, Rollins College, Northeastern University, Salve Regina University, Seton Hall University, St. Joseph’s College – Maine, Stonehill College, Syracuse University, Tulane University, University of California - San Diego, University of Hawaii – Manoa, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, University of Rhode Island, University of Tampa, Westfield State College, Worcester State College.


• Jordan Almeida: Bertha Sawyer Award
• Melissa Csigay: Community Service Award of Excellence - 100+ Hour Club; David Alexander MacDonald, Jr.’47 History Prize; Elizabeth H. Greene Scholarship
• Rachel Chernick: Camella Kay Martin Math Award
• Rebecca Douglass: Carrie Maren Waters Prize; Elizabeth H. Greene Scholarship; Sportsmanship Award
• Shane Douglass: Robert W. Schantz Award
• Antone Harden: Happy White Student Art Collection - Outstanding Artwork 2010 - 2D
• Luany Gotay: Joseph W. Vanable Award; Louis W. Downes Scholarship
• Jason Hill: Cecilia and Gordon E. Hall Memorial Award
• Song Hee Hong: Academic Award of Excellence - English• Andrew Lipof: Community Service Award of Excellence - 100+ Hour Club; Sportsmanship Award
• Meng Hsuan Liu: Academic Award of Excellence - Science; Community Service Award of Excellence - 100+ Hour Club; Connie Howard Award; Rhode Island Scholar Award
• Ross McAllister: Academic Award of Excellence - Technology; McBride Award
• Matthew McCall: Leslie A. and Lillian P. Walker Memorial Award; Louis W. Downes Scholarship; St. Andrew’s Parent Association - Commitment to Community Scholarship
• Yulan Millican: Beverly J. Colvin Choral Award
• Matthew Newell: Athlete of the Year; Community Service Award of Excellence - 100+ Hour Club; Gentleman’s Prize
• Elizabeth O’Donoghue: Bertha Sawyer Award
• Zi Hua Pan: Academic Award of Excellence - Math; Rhode Island Scholar Award; Zimmermann Student Award
• Jonathan Perry: Academic Award of Excellence - Music; Zechariah Chafee Award
• Sara Rosen: Academic Award of Excellence - History
• Eric Sherman: Louis W. Downes Scholarship
• Jonathan Shore: Academic Award of Excellence - Visual Art
• Ayannah Thomas: Athlete of the Year
• Robert Trombley: Elizabeth H. Greene Scholarship
• James Waugh: Bertha Sawyer Award
• Monika Weiss: Happy White Student Art Collection - Outstanding Artwork 2010 - 3D
• Richard Weller: Elizabeth H. Greene Scholarship
• Madison White: Community Service Award of Excellence - 100+ Hour Club; Elizabeth H. Greene Scholarship
• Matthew Wuertz: Claire Frye Monologue Contest Winner; Community Service Award of Excellence - 100+ Hour Club; Elizabeth H. Greene Scholarship; Rhode Island Scholar Award
• Liang Yin: Community Service Award of Excellence - 100+ Hour Club

• Aboubacar Casse: Zimmermann Player Award
• Corey Charness: Pell Medal - Excellence in U.S. History
• Sheldon Holder: Vicky Posner ’02 Spirit Award
• Conor Martin: Academic Award of Excellence - World Languages
• Gabrielle Morin: Head Master’s Award
• Miriam Okero: Brown University Book Award
• Yoo Eun Park: Harvard Book Award
• Brian Volpe: Community Service Award of Excellence - 100+ Hour Club; Penn Book Award; University of Rhode Island Alumni Award

• Earl Kevin Crawford: Alphin T. Gould Memorial Theatre Award; Head Master’s Award
• Tyler Dubuc: Community Service Award of Excellence - Gold Club
• Melanie Rosen: Community Service Award of Excellence - 100+ Hour Club

• Ann Kissel: Head Master's Award


Commencement is always a time to celebrate all that has been accomplished, but it is also a sad time as the school year has come to an end. We wish the 2010 Graduates all the best and look forward to them becoming part of our 2010 Alumni class!

Jordan Alexander Almeida
Olivia Leigh Alverson
Brent Arlindo Alves
Rachel Faye Chernick
Yong Hun Cho
Melissa Stephanie Csigay*†
David Cuba Curtis
Youri Ashley Dascy
Rebecca Anne Douglass*
Shane Joseph Douglass
Shayna Phoebe Duval
Janichugu Luany Gotay
Alexa Gail Greenberg
Anthony Harden
Antone Harden
Jason Charles Hill
Song Hee Hong†
Melissa Valerie Hordes
Dorothy Jayne LeComte*
Ho Hyung Lee†
Nicholas Alexander Lee
Andrew Todd Lipof
Meng Hsuan Liu*†
Muyi Liu†
Zachary Xavier Lowney
Ross Bernard McAllister
Matthew Joseph McCall
Yulan Sigrid Heineman Millican†
Matthew Paul Newell
Elizabeth Beatrix O'Donoghue
Zi Hua Pan†
Jonathan Martin Perry II*†
Sara Ilana Rosen
Zachary Maxwell Rosen
Eric Carlton Sherman
Jonathan Raymond Shore
Lucy Alicia Strolla
Ayannah Shante Thomas
Elizabeth Leigh Thomson
Robert Stephen Trombley*
James Warren Waugh
Monika Ligaya Weiss*†
Richard Arthur Weller III*
Madison Shea White*
Matthew Madison Wuertz*
Liang Yin

* Chapin List - A select group of Junior and Senior student leaders who have earned the community's trust; a host of responsibilities and privileges accompany their appointment.

† Members of the National Honor Society.

   Elizabeth Park
   Dean of Students
   Ph: 401.246.1230 


St. Andrew's School Rhode Island   63 Federal Road, Barrington, RI 02806
Tel: 401.246.1230 Fax: 401.246.0510 Email: webmaster@standrews-ri.org